The Board sets the strategy for, and oversees the running of, the British Biathlon Union.

It comprises a mix of Appointed, Elected and Co-Opted Directors. The Articles of Association (Part 2) provide full details. In summary:

  • The Board membership will range between a minimum of three and a maximum of twelve directors
  • The roles of Chairman, Secretary General, Sports Director and Finance Director are appointments made by the Board
  • The Board may appoint up to a further six directors and may also Co-opt two further directors from time to time
  • Up to two directors may be elected by the membership at the AGM to serve for two years, after which they can stand for re-election for a further two years
  • The appointment of all Appointed and Co-opted Directors (except Sec Gen, Sports and Finance) must be ratified by the membership at the next General Meeting following their appointment
  • The Athletes Representative attends all Board meeting (without counting towards the maximum of twelve) and is entitled to vote

The Board usually meets between three and four times a year. Minutes of these meeting are published and can be found here

The current composition of the Board is:



Major General (Retd) Rob Weighill CBE

Secretary General 

Photo - CHRISTIE Roddy (GBR) 2

Roddy Christie

John Mead- Photo


Director Military Liaison

Brigadier John Mead

Elizabeth Sedgewick - Photo


Elizabeth Sedgwick


Member Elected Director

Carl Carrier
Elected: 27 Jan 2013
Re-election: 2018


2nd member Elected Director:



Athletes Representative

Join our journey by sponsoring British Biathlon

Become a Sponsor